Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

It takes two, baby

It usually takes two, but in our case it is taking three people to conceive our baby – my husband, my sister and me.

But it has been the two of us (my sister and me) who have gone to most of the appointments and scans together, which I have loved. In almost constant attendance has been my baby niece, who has rolled around the floor of our doctors’ and nurses’ waiting rooms, fluttering her eyelashes at other people in waiting for IVF (this is a new trick she learned from her dad which is very sweet).

While most other women we have seen have been on their own or with their partners/husbands; my sister and I have been constant companions, baby buddies, scan sisters. It has been a bit like going to a job interview with your best friend – much more fun than going on your own and much less scary.

Her company has made the whole journey so enjoyable. I would love to know what it is like for donors and recipients who start off as strangers. I imagine there is a special relationship forged. If anyone can give me some insight into this, I would love to hear it.

My husband and I go in for our embryo transfer tomorrow morning.  I am going to my last yoga session beforehand (apparently it pays to avoid yoga in the days afterwards it as it heats up the body too much which can jeapardise a transfer), then we will go for breakfast and then after the transfer we will head to my chinese doctor for acupuncture.

We don’t know yet how many eggs have fertilised but at least one must have for us to be booked for a transfer. We will find out tomorrow. It is very exciting. We know there is only about a 35% chance it will take but we are still allowing ourselves the luxury of a little excitement.

Comments on: "It takes two, baby" (1)

  1. I am SO excited for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

