Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

Tomorrow I find out if I am pregnant following our embryo transfer just under two weeks ago, using a donor egg from my sister.

We are so excited but this past week has been massively overshadowed by the events in Christchurch, New Zealand, where I lived for 8 years some time ago.

I haven’t been able to write a blog up until now as I have been consumed by a constant cold sweat of anxiety; firstly hearing the news of the quake last Tuesday, and then waiting, hoping and praying for news of loved ones, including my brother who lives there.

Thankfully he, and friends I know who live there, are safe. But many others, as you will know, are living in a nightmare of massive upheaval, enduring untold suffering and uncertainty.

The quake not only changed the face of their lives personally; it has changed the face of the city, its social fabric, infrastructure – everything that is normal.

The quake shook everything up. But in its rude disturbance, it has actually halted the city – paralysed it to a violent stop, holding everyone to ransom in their homes, devoid of food, electricity, communications, transport.

Meanwhile, we will be over the moon if tomorrow’s pregnancy test is positive. But if it isn’t, I will be thankful for the home I have, the loving husband I treasure, the job I go to, my workmates, my friends, our neighbours, my yoga studio and teachers, the train I catch, and the food I will eat for dinner tonight.

My friend Zara has just moved there and wrote a harrowing personal account, which you can read here.

Comments on: "The day that stood Christchurch still" (5)

  1. I’ve been thinking of you and your family going through all this. I’m glad your Kiwi loved ones are safe. Best of luck for the test!

  2. Thanks for your kind thoughts-it’s just so awful & unbelievable for those affected.

  3. Giselle said:

    Hi there!
    I found your blog from the babycenter forums. Good luck!! I am just about to start the donor egg process with my sister (donating for me.) I believe we are starting next week! Keeping my fingers crossed for you!

    • Hi Giselle

      How exciting to hear you are about to begin the same process yourself. I would love to hear how it all goes for you. Will you be blogging or anything similar?

      • Giselle said:

        Hi again! Yes, I just started a blog (like, today!) sometimesittakesthree.blogspot.com

        Just one post so far, but since I’m just starting this journey I plan on keeping up with it often.

        Good luck to you!!

Leave a Reply

