Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

When I told her I would be trying for a baby, my friend at work gave me a card with a four leaf clover on it she'd found in the garden - its pixie powers must have worked!

My doctor jokingly told me I was trading up when we talked about our embryos created out of my sister’s eggs and my husband’s sperm.

This is because my sister is six years younger than me and my husband is eight years younger than me. So how cool is that? Even though my body is 41; the embryo it is harbouring is about seven years younger.

Yes, I said harbouring. Other ways to describe this include being pregnant, up the duff, having a bun in the oven…etc.

The incredible news is that the embryo transfer worked!  The results of my first blood test came through positive last week on Tuesday. I just about fell off my chair. Surely they had got the results mixed up with someone else’s?

Just to make sure, they retested me last Friday and it came back positive again – this time with a pregnancy hormone more than double the previous and with strengthening progesterone levels which both apparently indicate pregnancy.

Well blow me and my husband down with a feather – we can’t believe it. But we are both so happy.

Ages ago, when I told my work mate I would be trying for a baby with my sister’s help, she gave me a card with a clover sellotaped to it as a good luck totem. That, plus a whole lot of other magical things have worked in our favour for this to happen – namaste.

Comments on: "I’ve traded up – up the duff" (3)

  1. I’m so happy for you!!!! Congratulations!!!!

  2. j'espere said:

    Great news! Congratulations!!

  3. That is fantastic news. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

