Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

Well today is here – the day on which we transfer the second of our eight embryos.

The first one took in February but we lost it. The doctor says it could have been because my womb lining was unstable – he says it’s unlikely there was anything wrong with the embryo as it was made with my sister’s eggs and husband’s sperm, both of whom are respectively six and eight years younger than me (which makes the embryos very viable).

This time around, he says my womb lining looks nice and thick and stable. I haven’t spotted this time either, whereas I did before our first transfer.

Other things are different this time too. We haven’t told anyone. We didn’t want our family and friends counting down the days to our pregnancy test. This will save us the grief of having to tell everyone it didn’t work. But I’m also finding it weird as I’m feeling quite alone and would love the support and enquiries of our nearest and dearest.

Also my husband has gone to work and so won’t be with me at the actual transfer. But to make up for it he is wearing some special boxer shorts I gave him when we first met. I will wear a bracelet and my watch which has given me.

What have others done at their transfer times – I would love to hear if you had your partner with you or gone it solo – and how did you find it either/both ways?

Comments on: "Trying again – embryo transfer #2" (2)

  1. I’ve only done one transfer, with the husband. But of my three IUI’s he wasn’t there for one of them.

    In the long run, successful or not (and I do hope it is successful) it doesn’t really matter if he is there or not – not like when most folk conceive when it is an imperative.

    Best of luck.

  2. Thank you.

    In the end, it didn’t matter at all that he wasn’t there – in a way it took the potential enormity of the moment away from both of us which was quite nice!

Leave a Reply

