Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

Surprise!

I didn’t want to find out the results of my pregnancy test while I was at work last Friday, so my husband said he would take the call from the fertility clinic.

I asked him not to call me either way once he knew, so I wouldn’t know if it was negative or positive until I got to the safety of home that night. We didn’t have any contact that day, apart from me calling him in the morning to let him know I’d had the blood test.  Then just before I left work that night, I called him again, to let him know I was on my way.

I tried to guage from the tone of his voice if the result was positive or not. But I couldn’t tell. Because of that I presumed the test was negative. I then cried and cried and cried all the way home. There was some music on the radio by a band I had never heard of before called the ‘The Unthanks’ who recently played at the Sydney Folk Festival. They are a northern UK folk band and their music was so sweet it made me cry even more. I cried for my husband and me and everyone who so badly wants a baby and has so many problems conceiving.

By the time I got home my eyes were red and puffy and stinging from the salt of my tears. My husband met me at the door and led me into the bedroom and sat me down on the bed where there was a bunch of flowers. I thought the flowers were out of commiseration. Then he told me the test was positive! I couldn’t believe it!

I had my follow up blood test today which confirmed I am definitely pregnant. So we are over the moon. But cautiously so, given that we lost our first pregnancy. But for the time being, I am treasuring this feeling, this wonderful feeling.

Comments on: "Surprise!" (10)

  1. Oh wow! What a fantastic surprise. Amazing. Enjoy it.

    • thank you – I still can’t believe it. I really wish you could be experiencing this too…

      • I’ve not given up yet! How are you doing now?

      • Thank you for asking – I am hopefully fine.

        I hope you are ok too. I read your last blog and am thinking of you. It seems you have been through so much, and continue to go through it with such grace. I’m so glad you haven’t given up – the next round may be the one that works! Looking forward to your next update…

  2. Congrats!!!! Such great news! I will be pulling for that little embryo!

  3. Wow. This is such wonderful news. I cant believe you managed to wait all day and that your husband didn’t just call and spill the beans. Congratulations.

    • I’m hopeless – I would have burst into tears regardless of whether the news was positive or negative and didn’t want to risk that happening at work! Good luck with your cycle…hopefully you will end up with a positive result too

  4. Oh, I am so happy for you! Congratulations! And the flowers from your husband were so incredibly sweet.
    Hope all continues to go well…
    xo

Leave a Reply

