Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

Ever eaten pate made from someone else’s placenta? I haven’t, but my sister and brother in law did unwittingly when their friends served it up to them over dinner once. Yuck yuck yuck!!!

Placentas come in handy in other ways too – mostly notably that they house and nurture a baby during pregnancy (no kidding Einstein!). I’ve also heard of people planting trees over them in their gardens etc.

I’ve also recently found out that another fantastic use for placentas is as a temporary replacement for HRT (hormone replacement therapy).

Apparently your placenta begins to produce oestrogen at around 10 weeks’ pregnancy, meaning the ovaries sit back and take a break for a while (until you stop breastfeeding after you’ve had your baby). I guess they stop producing any eggs to stop any new babies being made while you’re pregnant.

The very cool thing for people whose ovaries have stopped working (like me) is that we don’t have to take HRT during pregnancy as we have oestrogen swimming around in our bodies, care of our placentas.

I am delighted! I love that my body can magically do this. I wonder if there will ever be a way to harness our placentas in this way when we aren’t pregnant, so we don’t have to take HRT?

Comments on: "Things to do with placentas" (4)

  1. I would struggle to be civil to my hosts if I’d just eaten placenta pate without being warned! But I do like the tree idea.

    Hey, maybe freeze your own pate after the birth and have it on toast every morning to replace HRT!

  2. I just threw up a little in my mouth… gross.
    The things infertility will make us do… :p

  3. Thanks for your comment on my blog this week. Glad you’re not having to take HRT while you’re pregnant…what a nice bonus!

Leave a Reply

