Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

Hey nineteen

This is me and my tummy at 18 weeks pregnant - nearly two weeks ago

Amazingly, we have passed the halfway mark of our pregnancy. It is surreal to be able to say this as I honestly never believed it could happen for us. So we are nineteen weeks, going on twenty this Tuesday.

I feel like I am in a lovely dream, and every morning I wake up to see that my belly is a little bigger. This is making it really real. It is now too big for people to think I have been eating too many pies – I am obviously pregnant. You know how when you were a kid and tried to push your belly out as far as you could like a balloon, pretending you were pregnant? Well that’s what it feels like now for me, only I’m not trying to push it out – it’s doing that itself.

And most crazily and lovely; I have been getting little kicks for the past few weeks. They’ve been getting stronger and are always in one area – at the bottom of my belly, in my bladder area.  My husband felt one with his hand the other day and was so excited!

So this seems to be really happening – it seems we are on the way to have a real bona fide baby. I feel very brave writing this down as to date we have been very cautious and superstitious, peppering everything we say about the baby with copious amounts of “touch wood”s, or ending with the caveat “if everything goes to plan.”

I guess this is one reason why I’ve been loathe to write anything too soon on this blog.

But with every week that passes, I feel more confident that every will be OK (touch wood!). Now we begin the countdown to the end…believe it or not; only twenty more weeks to go!

Comments on: "Hey nineteen" (6)

  1. Not so barren now Lazza!

  2. Yes I know! But my unbarren belly was only made that way by an unbarren other – so in a way I am still barren – but with a full belly – yay!

  3. Yay! So happy to see this news. Gives me hope! Keep it up!

  4. tiggyjane said:

    I just found your blog and wanted to say thanks for your fresh inspiration. I am 37, have gone through 6 IVF cycles and am about to start 2012 with an egg donor ivf cycle who is one amazing woman in my life.
    I am knackered by the whole process at the moment (not to mention feeling like there has been a hole in my wallet with zero to show for it).
    I really related to the sense of concern you had for whether the donor cycle will work and I am excited, scared and a little lost in it all to be honest but loved following your story.
    Thanks for sharing!
    xx

    • Hi Tiggyjane

      It’s great to hear from you. It sounds like you’ve been through the mill with all your IVF cycles, but next year holds new promise with your donor cycle coming up – how exciting.

      I was exactly the same as you this time last year, as we began our donor cycle with my sis in February.

      As you’ll know from reading my posts, we were quite fatalistic about it working – and really didn’t expect it to. I can imagine you are feeling similar right now. But keep the hope up – it really could work for you, which would just be fantastic.

      Are you going to track your progress anywhere? How will I know how you are getting on – I’d love to hear your story.
      xx

Leave a Reply

