Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

Our ceramic welcome swallows are our first purchase for our baby's nursery - but we still can't quite admit it for fear of jinxing our pregnancy!

Yesterday we bought our first things for our baby’s room – they might look a little kitch but they are little ceramic swallows from an antique shop which we’re going to put on the wall – but we couldn’t bring ourselves to openly admit they are for the baby as we’re still so scared to jinx this pregnancy.

We admitted to the shop assistant, when she asked us (while eyeing my big belly), that they were for our baby, but on the way home we said that they would also look very nice on the wall of my husband’s record room (he is an ex DJ and has lots of vinyl records).

There is currently this subtext to everything we say and do – ie: that we are planning for our baby, which will hopefully arrive safely at the end of February – but that we can’t allow ourselves the luxury yet of just assuming that it’s going to happen and that all will be OK.

We were the same last weekend, when we went to a Baby Expo in Melbourne but couldn’t bring ourselves to buy anything.

Every week that we get through, we count if off as one week closer to the safe delivery of our baby.

But at the same time, I really want to treasure this pregnancy and not wish it away. I was reminded of this when reading a post on another blog, by a woman who is just about to have her baby tomorrow by c-section.

It’s not that I don’t treasure my pregnancy. I am in fact revelling in it and absolutely loving it – but I think my husband and I need to make sure we don’t wish it away on our journey to parenthood – as it’s as much a part of our baby’s development (as ours) as the birth and parenthood afterwards will be.

Has anyone else felt like this?

Comments on: "Swallowing our anxiety and treasuring this pregnancy" (4)

  1. Hey there, new follower here! I have no advice, but I wish you guys well and I believe those swallows are used for their intended purpose. Great idea for the nursery, by the way! 🙂

  2. As the proud owner of 7 flying ducks, I salute your swallows. Can’t help with the pregnancy concerns but I’m glad that you are loving pregnancy, even though it is tinged with (very understandable, but hopefully unfounded) nerves.

    • Wow – seven flying ducks – you sound like an ceramic wall bird officiando! I bet they look fab and with so many, they can keep each other company…

Leave a Reply

