Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

Welcoming our daughter

Our daughter conceived with my sister's donor eggs arrived safe and well on February 13 - much to the delight of my husband and I, after six years' trying to conceive

Our dear daughter is now 11 days old. She is absolutely beautiful and perfect in every way. She hasn’t even inherited my one-eared deafness which I mentioned in my last post, which I inherited from my own aunty.

She arrived safely via c-section on 13 February and every day since then has been wonderful but hectic – hence my tardiness posting this news.

We still can hardly believe she is here. I forget all the time that she was conceived with my sister’s eggs as she is very much my husband’s and my baby. But that doesn’t mean that we won’t tell her about her genetic heritage – we are being open about this with everyone we know well and will tell her of her special conception and birth story from as soon as she can understand.

Thank you to everyone for your love and support leading up to this – I just hope that everyone else in hope and need of donor IVF is as lucky as we are.

Comments on: "Welcoming our daughter" (9)

  1. So very happy for you, she is a realy beauty and looks so contented. Christmas is truely going to be a magical time in your home now. We are also hopeing for a magical Christmas as we finaly have been given the all clear for our little mirricle to be transfered. You have given me so much hope and courage with the most wonderfull outcome.
    Thank you for shareing your journey and giveing hope to so many.

    • Hi Heather, so pleased to give you hope – it sounds so corny but dreams really can come true. Best of luck with your journey – hopefully by Christmas you’ll have a little babe too! x

  2. Aw she is so gorgeous! What a cutie. Welcome to the world wee Elsie Rose x

  3. Oh wow – what a super sweet little dreamy bundle of gorgeous-ness!! incredible. Alas not going to be in town for the Melbourne gathering you mentioned. Checked it out and realise it is when I am travelling. Boo. In the meantime, you must be in heaven! xx

  4. Aw, congrats! She’s beautiful!!

  5. Wonderful news. Congratulations.

  6. So happy for you. She is absolutely gorgeous.
    Congratulations xx

  7. j'espere said:

    So incredibly happy for you. She is just lovely! I second Heather’s statement–thank you for giving those of us still in the trenches hope! I see that the long wait is well worth it 🙂
    xx

Leave a Reply

