Blog about having premature ovarian failure and trying donor IVF with my sister's eggs

One of my workmates says her sister in law won’t have children as she’s too scared to go through the pain of labour.  I don’t blame her really, especially when I hear all the horrible stories of blood, guts and poo from my friends and family who have already gone over the to other side ie: gone through labour.

But I am beginning to ask seriously – why is it that we are expected to go through all this pain, when for any other procedure in which pain is expected, pain killers are made available?

I have had a several operations over the years, including bilateral bunion surgery, laser eye surgery and two incised bartholin’s cysts (not fun and very painful). I have also had all my wisdom teeth and four molars out (thank god we live in the era of orthodontics as without it I would have had a serious mouthful of fangs).  For all procedures, I have been knocked out under a general anaesthetic with lovely analgesics to ease me through the first few painful days afterwards.

So why are we still expected to suffer the purported agony of childbirth?

Does it tie back to the bible in some way? Or is it linked to some kind of misogyny?

Or is it that women themselves want to experience that pain and wear it as a badge of honour? Listening to some women comparing notes about labour is fascinating – it is like they are posturing and jostling for the position of the woman who had the worst/longest/most dangerous/most painful experience – why??

Does anyone have the answer to this?  Why don’t we all just have epidurals or spinal blocks right at the start of labour, or cesareans, so we don’t have to experience apparently excruciating pain? Would this be so humiliating if it meant avoiding what is sometimes days of painful labour resulting in painful, stitched-up derrieres, blood loss and exhaustion?

Comments on: "Childbirth – a pain in the bum" (4)

  1. Loved your post. 🙂

    I’ve nominated you for an award on my site 😀

    xoxoxo
    IVF Buggy

    • Hi Buggy
      Thanks so much for the nomination, and glad you liked my blog! I love yours too and love the fact that we’re tracking quite closely in our pregnancies!
      xxx

  2. I used to be so afraid of labor and then I got pregnant on accident. Now I am so anxious to give birth and get this child out of me that the fear of the pain isn’t even really an issue anymore. But on a side note, my answer to drugs during delivery will be a resounding YES, PLEASE.

  3. […] Childbirth: A Pain in the Bum […]

Leave a comment